Stephen O’Malley

Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter added to SUNN O)))s Roadburn 2011 lineup!

Posted: Jan 24, 2011

We are pleased to announce that our great friends in The Sweet Hereafter will be joining at Roadburn next April. Jesse Sykes is one of the most beautiful chanteuses of recent times, and our collaborations have been most interesting, beautiful and arcane in their essence. Full respect!

Sweet Hereafter guitarist and co-leader Phil Wandscher is one of my favorite guitar players as well... and a close comrade, especially in all things ALTAR related. Another officer in the guitarist army of our curated day!

Also of very important note: The Magister of Seattle, William Herzog, operates as bassist in this outfit and must get honorable mention. Bill has played with O))) many times in the past years as well, including on SUNN O)))s first "comeback" show at SXSW in 2003 and as collaborator on the "altar" album, not the least the track "N.L.T." (No LapTop) together with Atsuo/Boris on Bowed Gong!

“With a lovelorn, heavenly voice that’s earned comparisons to the late, great Sandy Denny, Jesse Sykes sings the kind of heart-songs that bleed pure outland soul. After leaving Alt Country band Hominy, Sykes hooked up with ex-Whiskeytown guitarist Phil Wandscher. The two set to work recording Sykes’ songs by picking some of the most-respected Seattle musicians to form The Sweet Hereafter. Anyone who ever loved the Scud Mountain Boys will love this band even more: almost every song burns slower than an American Spirit cigarette, as subtly twangy undertones weave in and out of spacious arrangements” — Eric Shea,

Also appearing on the bill are Winter, Corrosion of Conformity (“Animosity” lineup), Keiji Haino, Earth, Caspar Brötzmann Massaker, Mamiffer, Scorn, Beaver, Hooded Menace, Menace Ruine, Aluk Todolo, The Secret, Atilla’s Csihar’s Void Ov Voices and Sunn O))).

As curator, Sunn O))) (Greg Anderson and Stephen O’Malley) are personally selecting the bands that will play during their special event, as well as performing a headlining show. Sunn O))) is Roadburn’s fourth curator, following David Tibet in 2008, Neurosis in 2009 and Triptykon’s Tom Gabriel Warrior at this year’s festival in April.